Cynthia Rivera Weissblum, CEO of Edwin Gould Foundation, Announced in New Class of Leaders for Pahara-Aspen Fellowship

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Cynthia Rivera Weissblum, CEO of Edwin Gould Foundation, Announced in New Class of Leaders for Pahara-Aspen Fellowship

SAN FRANCISCO (January 22, 2020) – The Pahara Institute, together with the Aspen Institute, announced today the Spring 2020 cohort of the highly selective Pahara-Aspen Education Fellowship. These 24 individuals join the Pahara community of leaders, which is designed to support and challenge diverse and innovative leaders who are reimagining America’s public schools.

“To make sure all of our children are truly prepared to live and thrive in a diverse society, we must provide a space for leaders to engage in the intentional learning and dialogue necessary to transform the public education system,” said Kim Smith, Pahara Institute Founder and CEO. “We are excited to support a new cohort of inspiring Pahara-Aspen Fellows with the bold leadership needed to bring innovative and effective solutions to the field.”

The Pahara-Aspen Education Fellowship is a two-year, cohort-based program that identifies exceptional leaders in the educational excellence and equity movement, facilitates their dynamic growth, and strengthens their collective efforts to dramatically improve public schools, especially those serving low-income children and communities. The Fellowship provides these leaders with the unusual opportunity to step back from their demanding daily work to reflect with peers on their collective and individual impact as leaders and change agents. Fellows challenge each other to think beyond traditional silos and sector boundaries to develop strategies that enhance their effectiveness as leaders, address leadership challenges in public education, and accelerate the improvements needed to provide high-quality learning opportunities for all of our nation’s children.

The Fellowship is a partnership between the Pahara and Aspen Institutes. The Aspen Institute has created a leadership development model through its renowned Henry Crown Fellowship program, which focuses on inspiring Fellows to make a lasting difference in their spheres of influence through the application of effective and enlightened leadership. Pahara-Aspen Fellows become part of the Aspen Global Leadership Network, which currently includes more than 3,000 Fellows from over 50 countries who are collectively making tremendous positive change in the world.

The Spring 2020 Pahara-Aspen Education Fellows are:

  • Michael Benjamin, National Director of Grassroots Advocacy & Mobilization, American Federation for Children
  • Maya Bugg, Chief Executive Officer, Tennessee Charter School Center
  • Starlee Coleman, Chief Executive Officer, Texas Public Charter Schools Association
  • Christine DeLeon, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Moonshot edVentures
  • Anpao Duta Flying Earth, Executive Director, Native American Community Academy
  • Paul Freedman, Founder, Chief Executive Officer, & Principal Consultant, Entangled Group
  • Federico Gonzalez, Chief Learning Officer, KIPP Foundation
  • Scott Gordon, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Mastery Charter Schools
  • Joshua Griggs, Executive Vice President, Talent & Operations, & Chief Finance Officer, Teach For America
  • Mira Habiby Browne, Co-founder & Executive Director, Prepared Parents
  • Dominique Lee, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, BRICK Education Network
  • Sunil Mansukhani, Principal, The Raben Group
  • Talia Milgrom-Elcott, Founder & Executive Director, 100Kin10
  • Scott Moore, Chief Executive Officer, Kidango
  • Lauren Morando Rhim, Co-founder & Executive Director, National Center for Special Education in Charter Schools
  • Beth Rabbitt, Chief Executive Officer, The Learning Accelerator
  • Sara Rittling, Executive Director, First Five Years Fund
  • Cynthia Rivera Weissblum, Chief Executive Officer, Edwin Gould Foundation
  • Roberto J. Rodríguez, President & Chief Executive Officer, Teach Plus
  • Kameelah Shaheed-Diallo, Partner, The City Fund
  • Michele Siqueiros, President, The Campaign for College Opportunity
  • Anthony Solina, Area Superintendent, Central Valley Region, Aspire Public Schools
  • Joan Sullivan, Chief Executive Officer, Partnership for Los Angeles Schools
  • Jessica Wodatch, Co-founder & Executive Director, Two Rivers Public Charter Schools

“Addressing the challenges of public education in the United States requires building trust and dialogue from leaders across the country. The Fellows in this class of the Pahara-Aspen Education Fellowship will add to the mosaic of values-based leaders across the country helping to build a more free, just, and equitable society,” said John Simpkins, VP Aspen Global Leadership Network at the Aspen Institute.

To access bios and photos of the Pahara-Aspen Fellows, click here...

Find More By