Andy Warhol Foundation Board Names Julián Zugazagoitia Chair, Adds Three Members

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Andy Warhol Foundation Board Names Julián Zugazagoitia Chair, Adds Three Members

The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts has elected a new board chair, Julián Zugazagoitia, and three new board members: Naomi Beckwith, Cary J. Davis, and Deborah Willis, Ph.D. Zugazagoitia succeeds Igor DaCosta, who recently completed his term of distinguished service. The Warhol Foundation board is a diverse group of 17 artists, curators, directors, scholars, and visual arts leaders from throughout the country.

Joel Wachs, President of the Foundation, said, “Since he joined the board seven years ago, Julián has made a significant impact and we are looking forward to his leadership as chair. At the same time, we are honored to welcome Naomi, Cary, and Deborah; their perspectives will be vital as we seek to support artist-centered institutions in the field.”

Julián Zugazagoitia has been the Director and CEO of the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art in Kansas City since 2010. During his tenure, attendance has grown 43%. Known for his high-energy leadership and collaborative spirit, Zugazagoitia previously served as Director and CEO of El Museo del Barrio in New York, where he oversaw a $44 million renovation project. He has also held positions at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, UNESCO, and the Getty Conservation Institute, and has curated exhibitions internationally.

Naomi Beckwith is the Manilow Senior Curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago (MCA), where her exhibition and book projects focus on the impact of identity and multi-disciplinary practices for shaping contemporary art. Prior to the MCA, she held positions at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Philadelphia and the Studio Museum in Harlem. She served on the jury of the 56th Venice Biennale and was the 2015 recipient of the New Leadership award from ArtTable...

Find More By

Funding Area