Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Announces the 2023 Sloan Research Fellows

Wednesday, February 15, 2023

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Announces the 2023 Sloan Research Fellows

(New York, NY) – The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation today announces the names of the 125 early-career researchers who have been selected to receive a 2023 Sloan Research Fellowship. Awarded annually since 1955, the fellowships honor extraordinary U.S. and Canadian researchers whose creativity, innovation, and research accomplishments make them stand out as the next generation of leaders. A full list of the 2023 Fellows cohort is available at

"Sloan Research Fellows are shining examples of innovative and impactful research,” says Adam F. Falk, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. “We are thrilled to support their groundbreaking work and we look forward to following their continued success."

A Sloan Research Fellowship is one of the most prestigious awards available to young researchers, in part because so many past Fellows have gone on to become towering figures in science. Renowned physicists Richard Feynman and Murray Gell-Mann were Sloan Research Fellows, as was mathematician John Nash, one of the fathers of modern game theory. 56 Fellows have received a Nobel Prize in their respective field, 17 have won the Fields Medal in mathematics, and 22 have won the John Bates Clark Medal in economics, including every winner since 2007. A database of former Sloan Research Fellows can be found at

Fellows from the 2023 cohort are drawn from a diverse range of 54 institutions across the U.S. and Canada, from large public university systems, to Ivy League institutions, to small liberal arts colleges. “Each in its own way, the nominating institutions are also helping to identify and support these flourishing young researchers,” says Daniel L. Goroff, director of the Sloan Research Fellowship Program. “We’re honored to join them in recognizing tomorrow’s scientific leaders.”

Open to scholars in seven scientific and technical fields—chemistry, computer science, Earth system science, economics, mathematics, neuroscience, and physics—the Sloan Research Fellowships are awarded in close coordination with the scientific community. Candidates must be nominated by their fellow scientists and winners are selected by independent panels of senior scholars on the basis of a candidate’s research accomplishments, creativity, and potential to become a leader in their field. More than 1000 researchers are nominated each year for 125 fellowship slots. Winners receive a two-year, $75,000 fellowship which can be used flexibly to advance the fellow’s research. Nominations for the 2024 Sloan Research Fellowships will open on Saturday, July 15, 2023.

Find More By

News type 
Funding Area 
Related Organizations