Rita Allen Foundation Announces 2018 Award in Pain Scholars

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Rita Allen Foundation Announces 2018 Award in Pain Scholars

The Rita Allen Foundation has named Helen Lai of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Candice Paulsen of Yale University as 2018 Award in Pain Scholars, recognizing emerging leaders in basic pain research whose work holds high potential for uncovering new pathways to improve the treatment of chronic pain. The Scholars, nominated by the American Pain Society, will receive grants of $50,000 annually for a period of up to three years to pursue innovative research on mechanisms that initiate and propagate pain in the nervous system.

In 2018 the Rita Allen Foundation and the American Pain Society are celebrating the 10th year of a collaboration that has provided critical support to 20 early-career scientists seeking to understand and alleviate pain. Started as a pilot program in 2009, the award represents a distinctive private funding opportunity for rising investigators to conduct research specifically focused on pain. Scholars have gone on to make valuable contributions to the field and have received further funding and recognition, including awards from the International Association for the Study of Pain, the New York Stem Cell Foundation, the U.S. National Institutes of Health and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research...

Find More By

News type 
Funding Area 
Related Organizations