PNY Members Named to Commission Examining Closures of Nonprofits

Tuesday, March 10, 2015
PNY Members Named to Commission Examining Closures of Nonprofits
Chaired by Gordon Campbell of NYU's Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, former government official and nonprofit executive, the Commission is made up of seasoned nonprofit human services executives, members of the HSC's Chair's Cabinet (a group of close advisors to HSC), and other experts with unique perspectives and knowledge around nonprofit management and oversight. See the full list below.
This Commission will examine the recent closure of several nonprofit human services organizations in an effort to understand the contributing factors from management and oversight to challenging fiscal environments. Lessons learned will be extrapolated and used to inform the development of several sets of recommendations aimed at various audiences, including nonprofit human services managers, nonprofit human services boards, government funders, philanthropy, and auditors. While this examination was triggered by the recent announcement by FEGS of their intention to shut down, the Commission will draw from a variety of examples, which may include such organizations as Alianza Dominicana and Hale House, as well as organizations that have merged.
Over the course of several months, the group will evaluate the financial details, management decisions, government contract terms, and accountability systems of these organizations to gain a full picture and understanding of what caused them to close. They will also examine existing oversight approaches, including those required and those considered best practices, investigate the financial and other management decisions made, and identify funding and other systemic issues contributing to financial problems.
The group will begin meeting this month, solidifying its purpose and developing a roadmap for getting there.


Commission Participants

Chair: Gordon Campbell, NYU Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service

Douglas Bauer, The Clark Foundation 
Antony Bugg-Levine, Nonprofit Finance Fund
Joel Copperman, CASES
Don Crocker, Support Center for Nonprofit Management
Fred Davie, Union Theological Seminary in the City of New York
Sean Delany, Lawyers Alliance for New York
Julie Floch, Eisner Amper
Eric Goldstein, UJA-Federation of New York
Jack Krauskopf, Baruch School of Public Affairs
Thomas Krever, Hetrick-Martin Institute
Katie Leonberger, Community Resource Exchange
John Macintosh, SeaChange Capital Partners
Dianne Morales, Phipps Neighborhoods
Gail Nayowith, Consultant
Mitchell Netburn, Project Renewal, Inc.
Jim Purcell, Council of Family and Child Care Agencies
Joanne M. Oplustil, CAMBA
Hilda Polanco, Fiscal Management Associates
Allison Sesso, Human Services Council
Fred Shack, Urban Pathways
Marla Simpson, Brooklyn Community Services
Patricia Swann, The New York Community Trust
Kathryn Wylde, Partnership for New York City
Michael Zisser, University Settlement