The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Announces the 2022 Sloan Research Fellows

Tuesday, February 15, 2022

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Announces the 2022 Sloan Research Fellows

(New York, NY) – The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation today announces the names of the 118 early-career researchers who have been selected to receive a 2022 Sloan Research Fellowship. Awarded annually since 1955, the fellowships honor extraordinary U.S. and Canadian researchers whose creativity, innovation, and research accomplishments make them stand out as the next generation of leaders. A full list of the 2022 Fellows cohort is available at

"Today's Sloan Research Fellows represent the scientific leaders of tomorrow," says Adam F. Falk, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. "As formidable young scholars, they are already shaping the research agenda within their respective fields—and their trailblazing won't end here."

A Sloan Research Fellowship is one of the most prestigious awards available to young researchers, in part because so many past Fellows have gone on to become towering figures in science. Renowned physicists Richard Feynman and Murray Gell-Mann were Sloan Research Fellows, as was mathematician John Nash, one of the fathers of modern game theory. For five of the past six years, the recipients of the Nobel Prize in Physics have included former Fellows—Andrea Ghez (2020), James Peebles (2019), Donna Strickland (2018), Kip Thorne (2017) and Duncan Haldane (2016). In fact, 53 Fellows have received a Nobel Prize in their respective field, 17 have won the Fields Medal in mathematics, 69 have received the National Medal of Science, and 22 have won the John Bates Clark Medal in economics, including every winner since 2007. A database of former Sloan Research Fellows can be found at

Fellows from the 2022 cohort are drawn from a diverse range of 51 institutions across the U.S. and Canada, from large public university systems, to Ivy League institutions, to small liberal arts colleges. "Colleges and universities with Fellows on their faculty should feel incredibly proud," says Daniel L. Goroff, director of the Sloan Research Fellowship program. "These institutions vary in size, mission, and other characteristics, but they are all attracting extraordinary people and then allowing them to flourish in remarkable ways."

Open to scholars in seven scientific and technical fields—chemistry, computer science, Earth system science, economics, mathematics, neuroscience, and physics—the Sloan Research Fellowships are awarded in close coordination with the scientific community. Candidates must be nominated by their fellow scientists and winners are selected by independent panels of senior scholars on the basis of a candidate’s research accomplishments, creativity, and potential to become a leader in their field. More than 1000 researchers are nominated each year for 118 fellowship slots. Winners receive a two-year, $75,000 fellowship which can be used flexibly to advance the fellow’s research.

Nominations for the 2023 Sloan Research Fellowships will open on Friday, July 15, 2022.

Find More By

News type 
Funding Area 
Related Organizations